

  ------------------------------------------------------------
                  README for Microsoft Works 8
                                      
  ------------------------------------------------------------

               (c) Copyright Microsoft Corporation


For the latest information on Works, visit our Web site at 
http://www.microsoft.com/products/works, or, to access the Web site 
from within any Works program, on the Help menu, point to 
Microsoft on the Web, and then click Online Support.


========================
HOW TO USE THIS DOCUMENT
========================

To more easily view this document, maximize the Notepad window.

To print this document, click Print on the File menu.


========
CONTENTS
========

Installing Microsoft Works
Issues
Files Written to the Windows System Folder
Templates Saved to the Program Files Folder
Frequently Asked Questions


==========================
INSTALLING MICROSOFT WORKS
==========================

To install Works:

1. Insert the Works CD-ROM into your CD-ROM drive. 
   Setup starts automatically.
2. Follow the instructions on your screen to install Works. 

If Setup does not start automatically, do the following:

1. On the taskbar, click the Start button, and then click Run.
2. In the Open box, type the letter of your CD-ROM drive followed 
   by a colon (:), and then \msworks\setup. 

   For example, if your CD-ROM drive letter is d, type d:\msworks\setup.


======
ISSUES
======

When using Windows 98 Second Edition, your computer may not shut 
down properly after you install Works 8. To fix this, install 
the update available from the following Web site:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/downloads/corporate.asp

Click the "Windows 98 Second Edition Shutdown Supplement" 
link and follow the instructions on the screen
to download and install the update.

------------
Sending E-mail From Within a Program

With certain operating system configurations, Microsoft Outlook 
Express does not properly configure Messaging Application 
Programming Interface (MAPI) when it is installed. Applications
may stop working when you click the Send command on the File menu.

Solution:

1. Double-click the Outlook Express icon on the desktop.
   - or -
   On the taskbar, click the Start button, point to Programs,
   and then click Outlook Express.	
   The Internet Connection Wizard appears.
2. Follow the instructions.

This properly configures MAPI.

------------

Printing Word Processor Templates

Certain printer drivers may not print some Word Processor templates correctly.
Although the document may appear to be correct when you click Print 
Preview on the File menu, it looks different when you print. For example, 
the printed version may be formatted differently from the original, the 
document may print on more than one page, or a blank page may appear at 
the end of the print out. 

This problem occurs with these and other drivers:
*  HP DeskJet: 2500, 680c, 692c, 1600, 670c, 660c
*  HP LaserJet: 2600, 4mv, 8550, 4500

To fix this problem, you must adjust the margins manually for the document.

1. On the File menu, click Page Setup.
2. If it isn't already selected, click the Margins tab.
3. Adjust the settings so the document prints as you want it to.

------------

Setting Up Synchronization Between Palm Devices and Handspring(tm) Visor Devices 

If you are using Windows 2000 SP3 or later, you must install the latest 
version of Palm Desktop to synchronize Palm devices with Handspring(tm) Visor 
and Visor Deluxe. You can download the latest version from the Handspring(tm) 
Web site.

For more information or to download software, contact Handspring
Support at http://support.handspring.com.


=============================================
Files Written to the Windows System Directory
=============================================

The installation of Works will result in the following files 
being written to the Windows System or System32 directories:

LeadTools image import filters:
lfcmp11n.dll	ltdis11n.dll	lfpng11n.dll
ltwvc11n.dll	pcdlib32.dll	lfbmp11n.dll
lfeps11n.dll	lffax11n.dll	lfgif11n.dll
lfpcd11n.dll	lfpcx11n.dll	lfpsd11n.dll
lftga11n.dll	lftif11n.dll	lfwmf11n.dll
ltfil11n.dll	ltimg11n.dll	ltkrn11n.dll

Macromedia Flash:
Macromedia Flash files are written to the "Macromed" sub-directory.

Additional files:
hlp95en.dll	mfc42.dll	mfcans32.dll
msls2.dll	msvci70.dll	msvcp70.dll
msvcr70.dll	ochlp30e.dll	pubole32.dll


==============================================
Templates Saved to the Program Files Directory
==============================================

The Works Spreadsheet and Works Database will save 
any user created templates to the Works installation directory. 
By default, this directory is c:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\Template.


==========================
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
==========================

A. Why do the templates I created using earlier versions
   of Works not show up after I upgrade?
B. How do I set up Works 8 on my computer without removing 
   Works 2000?
C. Can I install individual programs from Works 8?
D. Why can't I find my files from Works 4.5a or earlier?	
E: Do I have to convert my existing Works files after I install
   Works 8? 
F: After I upgrade to Works 8, can I share files with people
   using earlier versions of Works?
G: If I remove a program from the Works Task Launcher, how can
   I get it back?
H: While using Works, some of my toolbar buttons appear as 
   blank boxes at the top of the screen. How can I fix this? 

------------

Q:	Why do the templates I created using earlier versions
	of Works not show up after I upgrade?

A:	You need to upgrade your existing templates. 

	1. On the taskbar, click the Start button, point to 
           Programs, and then click Microsoft Works.
	2. In the Works Task Launcher, click the Programs tab.
	3. Click the program in which your Works templates
           were created (ie: Word Processor, Spreadsheet, or
	   Database).
	4. Click Start a Blank <program name.> 
	5. On the File menu, click Open.
	6. Switch to the drive or folder where the template 
	   is located and double-click the template name.
           The default location for templates created in 
           Works 2000 is:
           C:\Program Files\MSWorks\Template
           The default location for templates created in 
	   Works 4.5a or earlier is:
	   C:\Program Files\MSWorks\Documents.
	7. On the File menu, click Save As.
	8. In the Save As dialog box, click Template. 
	   The Save As Template dialog appears.
	9. Type a name for the template, and click OK. 
	   Works 8 saves the Works Word Processor template you created in:
           C:\Windows\Application Data\Template
	   Works 8 saves the Works Spreadsheet and Works Database template you created in:
	   c:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\Template

------------

Q:	How do I set up Works 8 on my computer without removing
	Works 2000?  

A:	Microsoft recommends not to run different versions of 
	Works on the same computer. Works 8 will automatically 
	remove any older versions of Works when you install Works 8.

------------

Q:	Can I install individual programs from Works 8?

A:	No. Due to the high level of integration offered in
	Works 8, all of the standard programs (Database,
	Calendar, Word Processor, Spreadsheet, Portfolio, 
	and Works Task Launcher) are installed together.

------------

Q:	Why can't I find my files from Works 4.5 or earlier?
	
A:	The files may be stored in a folder other than the one in 
	which you are looking.

	In Windows XP Professional or Home Edition:

	1. On the taskbar, click the Start button and click on 
	   Search. 
	2. Click All files and folders.
	3. In the All or part of the file name box, type all or
	   part of the file name you are looking for.
	4. Click Search
	5. Double-click the file name.

	In Windows 2000 Professional, Windows Millennium Edition,
	or Windows 98 Second Edition:
	
	1. On the taskbar, click the Start button, point to Find,
	   and then click Files or Folders.
	2. In the Named box, type all or part of the file name 
	   that you are looking for.
	3. Click Find Now. 
	4. Double-click the file name.
	
	NOTE: For Works 8, Works 7.0, Works 6.0 and Works 2000, 
	the default directory is My Documents. The default directory
	for previous versions of Works is 
	C:\Program Files\MSWorks\Documents.

------------

Q:	Do I have to convert my existing Works files after I
	install Works 8? 

A:	No. You do not need to convert your Word Processor, 
	Database and Spreadsheet files created in Works 4.0 or later
	to another format to open them using Works 8. 

	The information in your existing Works Calendar will be 
	automatically upgraded to Works 8.

	You do not need to convert your Address Book from Works 2000
	or later to use it with Works 8.

	Microsoft recommends that you convert your address book 
	from Works 4.5a or earlier version to the new Address Book. By 
	moving your old address book information to the Address Book, 
	you can access your data not only from the Word Processor 
	but also from the Calendar and Outlook Express. 

	To convert your address book information from Works 4.5a or earlier 
	to the new Address Book: 

	1. On the taskbar, click the Start button, point to
	   Programs, then click Microsoft Works.
	2. In the Works Task Launcher, click the Programs tab.
	3. Click Address Book.
	4. Click Address Book converter.
	5. Click Start.


------------
        
Q:	After I upgrade to Works 8, can I share files with
	people using earlier versions of Works?

A:	Yes.  

	The Works Word Processor and Spreadsheet let you 
	save files in the formats that earlier versions of Works support.
	To save a file in an earlier Works format, 
	1. From within the program, click on File menu,
	2. Click on Save As... 
	3. In the dialog that oppears, select the file format you want to save in.
 	     
	This is the recommended way to save a spreadsheet 
	or word procesor document for use in Works 4.x/2000 formats.
	Word processor documents may lose some formatting when 
	saving as an earlier Works format. 	

	You can also open a Works 8 spreadsheet directly in 
	Works 2000, but you need to complete the Import Excel 
	Spreadsheet dialog. Your charts and formatting will not 
	be preserved.

	You can directly open Database files created in Works 8
	in earlier versions of Works.
	
------------
        
Q:	If I remove a program from the Works Task Launcher, how
	can I get it back?	

A:	If you removed a Works program such as the Word Processor,
	Spreadsheet, Database, or Calendar, you must reinstall
	Works for it to appear in the Works Task Launcher.

 	For Microsoft Suite programs such as Microsoft Money,
	Microsoft Encarta, or Microsoft Picture It, reinstall the 
	Works Suite. Make sure you select the Express Full option
	to automatically install all Works Suite programs. 

------------

Q: 	While using Works, some of my toolbar buttons appear as
	blank boxes at the top of the screen. How can I fix this?

A:	This is a known issue with machines that have a 3D ATI
	Rage Pro Video Card installed, however this problem may
	occur on machines with other video cards installed as well.
	To remedy this problem you must turn off the hardware
	acceleration on your video card. 

	Follow these steps to disable your hardware acceleration
	on Windows 98 Second Edition, Windows Millennium
	Edition or Windows 2000:

	1.   On the taskbar, click the Start button, point to 
	     Settings and then click Control Panel.
	2.   Double-click the Display icon.
	3.   Click the Settings tab.
	4.   Click the Advanced button.
	5.   Click the Performance tab.
	6.   Next to Hardware acceleration, point to the slider
	     and then click and hold the mouse while you drag the
	     slider as far to the left as it will go. It should
	     appear next to None.

	Follow these steps to disable your hardware acceleration
	on Windows XP Home or Professional Edition:

	1.   On the taskbar, click the Start button, and then click 
	     Control Panel.
	2.   Click Switch to Classic View on the sidebar if you're
	     in Category View.
	3.   Double-click the Display icon.
	4.   Click the Settings tab.
	5.   Click the Advanced button.
	6.   Click the Troubleshoot tab.
	7.   Next to Hardware acceleration, point to the slider
	     and then click and hold the mouse while you drag the
	     slider as far to the left as far as it will go. It 
	     should appear next to None.

	NOTE:    
	
	When you engage in other tasks that will require
	hardware acceleration, such as playing games,
	repeat the steps above to restore the hardware
	acceleration back to Full. Failure to do so will
	result in poor game display performance.

